RSS Feed

LAUNDRY ROOM MAKE-OVER!

Welcome to my new fresh laundry room!
My newest favorite paint color is not for every room and this room was just finished about an hour ago in perfect time for this paint party! So far everyone loves it…even if the only other people that have seen it is kids and a bunch of work men! LOL My husband is home and loves it too!
I forgot to take a picture before the painters came…the painter guy looked at me funny after realizing I took a picture of him painting! LOL You really wouldn’t have wanted to see the mess and chaos in this little laundry room anyways! LOL
I was in a dilemma of what color to paint…should I play it safe with Tabacco Road or Plantation Beige or go the bright green I wanted. As you can see I went green and love it! Asparagus green from Home Depot and I used Behr flat enamel that I’ve used in the rest of my house. Also, a few months back my husband stacked up the washer and dryer to give me a little more room to work with in this tiny room. For how big the rest of our house is…we have a teeny tiny laundry room with a not so great layout.
I used The Nester’s Mistreatment idea and made a curtain out of some fabric to cover up above the cupboard to use as storage area. Swung the rest of the fabric over the table I got at IKEA. No I didn’t sew a thing and yes you can see some stray strings but, really who is looking that closely?
I filed up the white metal container (which my friend gave me from her left over yard sale items and I love her left over junk) with laundry soap so I don’t have to see my super sized ugly bucket of soap. I set my “This Laundry Room Helps Keep America Clean” vinyl lettering frame up to cover up my cords to my lamp and hand radio’s hiding behind the metal container.
And then I hid two giant laundry buckets of dirty laundry under the table. I’m hoping to keep this laundry room floor clean of laundry stacking up so much that you can’t even walk in…we shall see if the troops cooperate! LOL
Also you can see I raised my table by putting it on bed risers to make it a better folding counter height. Now on to try to keep the clean laundry from getting dumped all over my room….I know fold it as it comes out…it just never happens…I’m always in a hurry to switch the washer to the dryer and start the washer again! I do have a family of 7 and that washer/dryer holds a lot of clothes in one load…the great thing about front loaders is you stuff them full and slam the door. I’m going to try to get my little helpers to put it away quickly by offering something as a bribe and also try to keep them from dumping all the clean laundry right back into the dirty hamper. Right now my big washing problem is all the dirty beach towels from the pool and swim practice everyday! After all this laundry room Make-over was for me as no one ever goes into this room but me…laundry is not my favorite thing to do and I’m hoping having a cheerful fun space will make it more inviting for me to keep up with all my laundry!
24 responses »

  1. I love that green. I'm painting my master bath that color in two weeks! Your laundry area turned out really well.

    Reply
  2. Howdy Neighbor.. Conyers blogger here. Love the green and the fabric matches perfectly.Thanks for sharing your laundry room and new color.Hugs,Debbie

    Reply
  3. That certainly does make the laundry more fun!

    Reply
  4. What a wonderful room! I wish I had a formal laundry room…….ahhhh… someday!Great color!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing your laundry room. I have that exact same paint color waiting for my laundry room. I painted our half bath that color and have enough left over for the laundry room. I may have to paint my cabinets white now too! They are really light now so I may just leave them.Where did you get the fabric? I love it and it matches perfectly! Thanks!

    Reply
  6. Love, LOVE the green! You are so inventive and such a great decorator. I need you in my house!

    Reply
  7. This is 100% charming!!! I LOVE that you will be doing your laundry in a happy cheerful place. I'm so glad you didn't go with "safe"! : )

    Reply
  8. I really like that green, and the fabric is perfect!

    Reply
  9. Love the green! I've been wanting to do my laundry room green. I'm a TN girl living in SC, my sister lives in Cumming!

    Reply
  10. I LOVE that color! I told the hubs I was doing the laundry room in that green and I'm SO on it come July! AHH!! Thank you for such a wonderful post!!!

    Reply
  11. That is too cute! I love how inspired we can get from fabric. I saw some tissue paper from hallmark that was that similar beautiful green color!

    Reply
  12. The fabric I got at a interior fabric store moving sale for $5 a yard and i think I have 4 yards. My painters always give me a good deal and they were here to help with another major repair job we had going on. I think the whole room (stack kit, fabric, table, bed risers, paint) cost right at $100 but, I didn't get it all at one time. The painters pretty much only charged an extra $30 on top of what we already needed done and $30 was worth it to not to paint it myself! Plus they painted the ceiling white for me.Thanks everyone for the great comments!

    Reply
  13. Like I could ever forget you! And look at your laundry room~I love, love it, Stacey! I am getting ready to re-do mine and this is just the inspiration I need. I'm so glad you went with the green~ I have Behr grasscloth and asparagus swatches right now and can't decide. I wish I could find that fabric too~it's perfect. Thank you for joining the party today~take care.

    Reply
  14. It looks great. I love the color!

    Reply
  15. I think your laundry room turned out great! My kids used to make fun of my pretty laundry room. We'll see how they feel when they have their own! You did a wonderful job of covering up the "working" parts.

    Reply
  16. I love that color. It is my new obsession. Where can I use it. : )

    Reply
  17. Beautiful green! I really like your idea of covering up the shelves. I need to do that!

    Reply
  18. Love it! The color and the mistreatments. Very cheery. I'm still brainstorming what I will do with my laundry room. It's huge (10×12) but also serves as a mud room. Hmmm….

    Reply
  19. It looks GREAT Stacey!!! I LOVE the green!! You are lucky you HAVE a laundry room!!! Mine is in my garage 😦

    Reply
  20. Love, love your laundry room – fabulous!Blessings,Mariehttp://emmacallsmemama.com

    Reply
  21. Love the color. Such a cute room. Where did you get the sign from? I love it.

    Reply
  22. I love your laundry room…..what a fantastic room to do laundry in! So many great ideas….I am going to have to copy!

    Reply
  23. Hi, Stacey, I think this is my first time by your blog. Your green paint looks so much like my green. Love what you did in there, and the fabric just really sets is off!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

