RSS Feed

Take your wardrobe from Drab to Fab!

In learning to “Dress My Truth” I realize that bright white is just not part of my true nature so I’ve learned how to re purpose some of my white or other colored clothing to be more true to my nature.

This is a brief tutorial how I have dyed some of my clothes and given some life back to my wardrobe. I suggest going to http://www.ritdye.com/ for more detailed instructions and color recipes to make your wardrobe from Drab to Fab!

We all have those white or light colored dingy looking shirts that could use some new life. What about your kids how…how many new shirts have you bought only for your kids to wear them one time and have a stain on them…disguise that stain!

Once you pick out your clothes you want to dye. Take a very large soup pot and fill with water. I do everything on the stove but you could heat the water and poor into a large bucket to dye.
Next take a measuring cup and scoop up a cup of heated water from your pot. I used 1 Tbsp of Petal Pink and 1 tsp of pearl grey and mixed it up in my measuring cup. Make sure the dye is dissolved real good and then poor into your pot to make the dye bath.
I run my clothes under cold water before placing them into the dye bath. Place in dye bath, stir it and make sure the whole garment stays down under in the bath.

(Picture of garment in pot goes here but it is missing so you can use your imagination)

When your garment is the desired color (remember it will dry lighter) rinse in cold water. Place into a plastic laundry basket while you dye your next item.
Each dye recipe is only good for a couple of pounds of fabric at one time and the dye bath won’t be as dark for additional garments.
You can see a variation of color between my two shirts the difference in fabric will also play a part in the color. Also you will see that some clothing is made with thread that doesn’t dye as well so you might see the thread not dying.
Once you are done dying I throw my clothes into the washer for a quick cycle and then the dryer.
Woo Hoo! It is like having 2 new shirts in my closet! Have fun experimenting and the worst thing that happens is you don’t like the color and dip them into another dye bath!
One response »

  1. This is a very smart thing to do! I think you have inspired me to get busy dyeing some of my clothes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

