RSS Feed

How to Make Flower Clips

Okay, so we did get a little carried away with making flower clips and put them all over the little misses head but, these are so fun and easy to make! I made 20 clips in an hour or less! I decided half way through to take pictures for a tutorial so not the best but you will get the picture!

Find some silk flowers you don’t mind taking apart. I happened to find garland of flowers at Wal-Mart on clearance for .75 cents! Yippee! It made at least 10 flower clips!

Pull apart your flowers and lay the petals out. In this case above there was plastic I peeled the petals off of.

Seperate out your petals and you will glue the petals back together by layering them on top of each other.

I used acrylic gems for the center (you could use buttons) and Alligator Barrettes. The Alligator barrettes were hard to find and I got mine at Hobby Lobby along with my gems. I will be watching for these to go on sale because I paid full price of $3.99 a bag of each.

Hot glue the gem in the center after you glued the petals and then glue a clip to the back. It is “easy peasy” as they say in our home. How fun to clip in your hair or on a head band. I see these on babies heads all the time clipped to the elastic head bands.

In all I made 20 clips with my Wal-Mart Garland and old silk flowers I had in the craft closet left over from something else. It costs me under $10 and my daughter is in heaven…she already had one in her hair as we left swim practice this morning.

I will be watching for the gems and clips to go on sale so we can make more for gifts. Also will be looking at garage sales and clearance for silk flowers I can pull apart. These same clips sell for at least $5 each so .50 cents sounds better to me! Get creative and have fun!

Leave a Reply

