RSS Feed

Real Southern Living- Accent Tables Distressed Make-Over

I’ve been wanting to attempt to make over these tables and finally set aside the time to do it. I started with tables that have seen better days as far as the finish goes but had really cute style.

IMG_1394IMG_1396

I took an electric sander and sanded down as much finish as my arms would tolerate! Then I wiped down the table with a damp rag.

IMG_1399

Next I used a brush and started painting my tables. I decided to try Behr’s Satin Ultra Paint and Primer in the color powdered snow from home depot. You could also use an oil based enamel.

IMG_1419

I would prefer spraying it however I didn’t have a sprayer so brushing by hand was my only choice.

IMG_1398

I put 2 coats of paint on and let it dry completely over night. The next day I got out the sander and sand paper to distress the edges. It is hard to see but I got the edges and legs in places along with sanding the top just enough to make sure it was smooth. Remember you want to see the wood and just in case you missed a spot with the paint…well it is okay!

IMG_1412

Next up was the glaze. This glaze was on clearance at my Home Depot and I had it mixed to the color of violin brown. Other glaze will work too.

IMG_1410

Using a cheap brush I brushed on the glaze and then wiped it off to my liking with an old t-shirt. The trick is getting all the tables the same…the first table I didn’t use as much and as I went on it got a little heavier.

IMG_1416

Here is the top of one of the tables after the glaze.

IMG_1413

Front

IMG_1408

I spray painted the old brass hardware with rubbed oil bronze…love that paint and kept on spraying a few other things like lamps and metal décor!

IMG_1400IMG_1403

So glad I did it! I have had so many compliments from friends that new the drab tables well…it has really brightened up our living room especially with the dark carpet color. Have fun distressing and take it from me once you’ve done it you will want to distress all your old furniture! Next project is the dinning room hutch…just need to decide what color?!!!

Leave a Reply

