RSS Feed

How to: Headboard Turned Towel Rack

IMG_4612IMG_4615

I stopped by the Thrift Store and came across this headboard and footboard that did not match but thought they would be perfect for my projects. They were small twin size, light weight and I thought would be easy to hang on the wall. Somewhere out there in blog land a few months ago I came across someone who turned a vintage headboard into a towel rack for her bathroom (sorry whomever that is or I would link your cute post) and I knew that would be perfect for a few of my bathrooms. Have you ever bought towel racks? They are expensive and well I just find them a pain…especially when you have children who knock them off the wall, pull on them, etc. Plus the towel racks we had only held 1 towel (we have 7 people in our family and need to hang more than 1 towel) and were chrome!

So I got out my left over white paint from my table project and started painting away. I had my husband cut off the legs on the headboard…mind you I’m afraid that this headboard might be some sort of Antique {GASP} because it had serial numbers on the back…took a little sand paper to distress it, bought 6 hooks at Walmart for $3 aprox (3 hooks for each but you could do more depending on the size), a package of picture hanging hooks and we were on our way to a fun project.

1st – Headboard for guest bathroom downstairs…it really is a piece of Art and we needed to fill up the wall which is kind of awkward space to start with!

IMG_4719IMG_4720

This first one my husband took 2 hours to hang…yes he isn’t all that handy sometimes! lol He had to add a piece of wood to the back of it because the headboard itself was thin so the screws for the hooks would have popped through the back. It also gave him something to put the picture hooks on to hang to the wall.

2nd- Footboard turned towel rack for my oldest girls bathroom.

IMG_4736IMG_4741

Neither Bathroom has a window so the lighting stinks to take a picture but oh so cute and this one only took 20 minutes to hang! Again fills up the space by serving a much needed purpose for two almost teenage girls who always have towels on the floor! lol

I have so many ideas of where I could use more of these racks….laundry room, coats, back packs, bedrooms, kitchen…more re-purposed racks to come in this house I’m sure!

Final Cost:

Headboard & Footboard= $15 Hooks x 6 @ $3 = $18 Picture Hooks = $.97

Left over paint and not so handy husband = Free

Total $ 33.97

Linking up to

Tip Junkie Handmade Project Party!
Tip Junkie handmade projects

And Laugh, Love, and Craft

And Creative Princess

And Today’s Creative Blog
Todays Creative Blog

And Fresh From the Farm

Homemade by YOU Monday Linky Party with Farmchick



The Southern Product Queen

13 responses »

  1. Such a CUTE idea! Love it!www.pirates-n-princesses.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. I like it! Photos are great too. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. I love it … posting the hooks on the headboard/footboard just gives it such a fun, unique feel. Great job!

    Reply
  4. I love how this turned out. It's so stunning! Please stop by http://www.laughloveandcraft.com and link up to my Share the Wealth Wednesday Link Party! I'm your newest follower!

    Reply
  5. What a fabulous idea!! You're awesome! I would love if you would link up on Thursday to "It's a Party"! Feel free to link up as many great projects as you want to!www.acreativeprincess.blogspot.com

    Reply
  6. You know how much I love this! Thank you so much for linking up!

    Reply
  7. Neat idea! Blessings from Wisconsin!

    Reply
  8. Love it! Such a creative us of an old bed!!Jenathomeinthenorthwest.blogspot.com

    Reply
  9. Cute and creative! love it! Little Bit DecorateWithaLittleBit.com

    Reply
  10. I love this idea! We are moving in a few months to a bigger home. I want to try this. One of my biddest pet peeves is not having anywhere to hang my towels. And this idea is so cute!

    Reply
  11. I work with headboards a lot. Think of a french cleat to help hang them. I have never made a towel rack from them.. Perfect for the twin sizes. Thanks for the tutorial! Followed over from Funky Junk.

    Reply
  12. This is so cute and clever 🙂 Laurel

    Reply
  13. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your site?Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?my website > backup camera

    Reply

Leave a Reply

