RSS Feed

Backpack Rack!

I told you I might get ‘rack’ happy when I posted about my ‘Towel Rack’ and yet here I am with my Back~ Pack~ Rack! I started with a piece of wood from Home Depot ($5).
IMG_5310

Next I got out paint left over paint. I wanted an aged look so I painted ‘new black’ on first from my hutch project. I’m so impatient sometimes that yes I painted this on my Kitchen Island because I wasn’t dressed to move to the garage…out where the neighbors might see me! I’ve learned that paint wipes off my counters nicely if I work quickly!
IMG_5315

Next I got out a free sample of paint I got from Lowe’s a few months back. It is called ‘Sea Salt Blue’ and is kind of a grey blue white and is very subtle. I painted it on so you could still see black under it.
IMG_5316
Then the fun part…The Brown Glaze that I used on my tables…painted it on and rubbed it off.
IMG_5317IMG_5318
My part was done. I let it dry and let my husband come along a put the cute number hooks on it that I got at Hobby Lobby when they were 50% off ($3 each). I have 5 kids hence why we have 5…and yes the baby in the family asked that question and wanted to know why his number had to be the 5?!!!
IMG_5332IMG_5337IMG_5339
So far I’ve realized that this is not just a back pack rack but a way to organize and assign odds and ends hanging on the banister at the bottom of the stairs! Now I can ask my children to put away the things hanging on their hook and keep my stairs a little more tidy…well I can hope right?!!! This rack is hanging down in my office that is getting a little make-over itself to make it more useful for when school starts back in session…and can you believe a month into our Summer Break and Target is starting to make room for Back to School!
Linking up to:
 Fresh From the Farm Monday’s
Tip Junkie handmade projects

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for linking up at the Market Your Biz & Giveaways. Can you also link up at the Creative Bloggers' Party & Hop so others can follow you? Hope to see you there at the party 🙂

    Reply
  2. In response to your comment about 'back to school', I was in JoAnn's the other day and noticed they are getting out their FALL stuff!! But you know, living in AZ, I'm GLAD to think fall is just around the corner! Love your blog, by the way!

    Reply
  3. Great job! I love it! I need one of these for my 4 kids. I might just have to try this one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

