RSS Feed

DIY Vintage Jars

I have seen these all over Pinterest and blog land so I decided to give it a try!  There are all sorts of great tutorials out there and this is not a great tutorial by any means but, at least I might give you the courage to try it! Mine don’t look quite like I saw on the tutorials but I still love them!
IMG_8063
I’ve been saving jars and I have found the pasta sauce jars are fun because they look more like old jars with the writing etched into them.
I started with 1 tsp of Elmer’s White Glue, 1.5 tsp water and 3 drops of food coloring mixed it up and poured it in the jar.  Put the lid on the jar and swirled it around.  Some of the jars covered better then others.  Some I added more mixture to…I just went for it and didn’t really stop to measure anything. I mostly used the blue food coloring but a few I added a drop of green and because I used different amounts of mixture on each jar they all are slightly different in color.
IMG_8062
I turned the jars upside down with the lid. After a little while if it looked like it needed another swirl I would tip it back up swoosh the paint again.  Once I liked how it looked I took the lid off and put it on a paper towel to continue to drain out and then turned it right side up and set it in the window seal to dry.  They aren’t perfect but it gives them character and look fun sitting in my kitchen window.  I haven’t tried to use them as a vases yet and would suggest letting them dry really well before you do so.
The best part about this project is that it was pretty much free and it recycled or used things I already had on hand.
I am linking up to:
320 Sycamore Under $10 Under an Hour Party.

  Funky Junk's Sat Nite Special

5 responses »

  1. These turned out beautiful! Visiting from 320 Sycamore 🙂

    Reply
  2. VERY COOL! We are your newest followers!

    Reply
  3. These look great! They remind me of Christmas for some reason. 🙂

    Reply
  4. I need to try this…I love the look! Thanks for sharing:)

    Reply
  5. Hi cute Stacey! Don't you LOVE Pinterest? Well, I love it and hate it at the same time…but anyway, these are fabulous, I love the look of them. Thanks so much for joining the party~it wouldn't be the same without you! Have a great weekend~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

