RSS Feed

Kitchen Island Face Lift

Project #3

Kitchen Island Face Lift 003

I had a love hate relationship with my Kitchen Island. I loved having an Island but, the trim around the bottom drove me nuts trying to clean it.

IMG_1305IMG_1344

The trim was coming off and there was a gap where food and dirt got down in it…gross is what it was and impossible to clean. So we added new base board all the way around covering up the whole bottom. We also added some poplar boards on the ends and back side boxing it out which beefed it up a bit.

IMG_1347IMG_1349
We bought a miter saw for the project and let me just say it is one power tool I am so excited to have…my husband not so much…lots of projects in store for the new saw. So I posted pictures of the boards we used above. The base trim came from Lowe’s and the poplar boards Home Depot…we found this to be cheapest and easiest route.
IMG_1350IMG_1356
We used adhesive to keep everything in place while we cut and figured everything out and then nailed it in later. 
IMG_1362
So here it is put together. I then caulked all the edges and corners or any place that had gaps…this island is not completely square so I made up for it with caulk so I wouldn’t have any more cracks for food and dirt to get down into. I then primed it with gray primer.
IMG_1378IMG_1379
I didn’t take all the doors off hinges and used a little tiny art brush to get around our hinges…they are the no show kind and wasn’t too difficult.  Next up was paint.  The jury is still out on the paint I used so I won’t advertise that.  After paint was dry I sanded the edges to distress and put a brown glaze all over it and wiped it off. Like I did to my furniture I posted about here.
IMG_1412
I still need to add final top coat but, I want to let it cure for a few days and I think I will use the furniture wax I used on my furniture and my banister make over as it it seems to be holding up well. It isn’t as messy to apply and gives that soft matt finish I like.
I love the island so much now! It looks more like a custom cabinet which means it makes the rest of the cabinets look not so great! LOL I love the painted distressed look over the orange/red maple that has taken a good beating over the last 6 years.
Kitchen Island Face Lift 001
So guess what’s next? Yeah, the rest of the cabinets…only they aren’t going to be black!  This fact is bothering my children who think they should all match! LOL The kitchen would be way too dark with all black so a distressed white is what I think I’m going with! What do you think? Oh and ignore the messy counters…I hadn’t completely cleaned up my project mess!
IMG_1415
I have some paint tips and I will post about those later. If you have any questions or comments I would love to hear them below!

Linking to:
At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia, A Simply Klassic Home, Not Just A Housewife, Meet Me Mondays, A Bowl Full of Lemons, It’s Overflowing, Chatty Chics, Southern Product Queen, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple

11 responses »

  1. Wow what a wonderful transformation!The mouldings really jazzed it up a notch! And I really love the color choice as well:)) Great job:) Deidre~ http://simplysimplisticated4.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. I love the island's new look! Your kitchen will be stunning after you finish painting everything! I just had to follow you so I can see!

    Reply
  3. I have a kitchen island that similar to yours back home (we are renting it our while we are living on the east coast). I would love to paint our island black when we finally get to move home. I agree with you about the rest of the cabinets! Paint them white and distress them. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oops! Meant to add that I found your blog from A Bowl Full of Lemons. 🙂

    Reply
  5. What a great transformation! It looks fantastic! 🙂

    Reply
  6. That looks beautiful!! Love how the new trim really adds some "umph" and the black is fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Inspiration Friday!Vanessa

    Reply
  7. Total AWESOMENESS!!! This turned out PERFECT! You are totally ROCKING it!!! I'll be featuring this! Thanks for sharing at Overflowing with Creativity! Here's a link in case you want to register for my giveaway! Ramsign Giveaway: Porcelain Enamel Sign {up to $99 value} XO, Aimee

    Reply
  8. PS I'm excited to be your newest follower!!! If you haven't already, I'd LOVE to have you share the 'Love' on your next visit!!! XO, Aimee

    Reply
  9. Wow, Stacey! What a beautiful transformation. My pinterest kitchen board is filled with island ideas and yours is my new favorite. Your "old" island is just like my current one…can't wait to give it the once over! I would be super delighted if you would link this up to my brand spanking new par-tay: http://www.ishouldbemoppingthefloor.com/2012/01/mop-it-up-mondays-party-1.html{HUGS},kristiyour newest follower 🙂

    Reply
  10. Love it! I painted my island black too and love how it transforms the space! So excited about your saw although I'm scared to death of power tools! 🙂 Anyway, you did a bang up job!MelodyChattyChics.com

    Reply
  11. Is your island made of wood? I have a not-so-pretty pressed particleboard island and I'm trying to figure out how to make it beautiful! I'm not sure if painting it would help or look tacky…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

