RSS Feed

Easy No Sew Bunting Flags

Bunting Flags 001
I had so much fun making bunting flags! I’m not sure why I’ve never done it…I have cyber flags hanging across my blog that I love!

I decided to try some for a photography shoot I have coming up this week. I was able to get my fabric on the clearance table. I got quarter yard of 4-5 fabrics and it ended up only being .38 cents for a quarter yard at Wal-Mart. Of course you can pick up everything else in the sewing department as well. I have a love hate relationship with the super store! Not all stores have a fabric section but, they did bring fabric back to one of our stores that is close by.
Bunting Flags 002
You will need:
Fabric, Fusible Webbing, Fabric Glue, Bias Tape, Cutting Tools, and Rick Rack if you want to embellish.
I used a piece of paper and created a triangle template that was approximately 8 inches across the top and 11 inches long. I cut my triangles doubled layered so you will have a front and back.  Some of my fabric I was able to squeeze 3 flags if I was careful on placement and some I only got 2.  7-11 Flags is what you want to aim for.  11 is the max for 1 strand of bias tape.
You will next want to read the directions on your fusible webbing as they are all different and I didn’t take pictures of the process. {yes I spelled fusible webbing wrong on my picture and I’m too tired to fix it, so if you have a problem please ignore it! Picasa doesn’t have spell check!}
IMG_2971
It will look like something above mid process…I was pulling the paper back after ironing it on and getting ready to iron on the top fabric.
bunting flags 003
Once you have your triangles you will want to find the center of the bias tape and glue your middle flag.  Work your way out to the sides gluing with an inch in between the flags. You can adapt according to how many flags you have and size. Make sure you glue the bias tape down in between the flags. If you want to embellish with rick rack and other fun stuff or leave them plain is up to you!
Bunting Flags 004
It takes a little bit of time to cut the triangles and use the fusible webbing but, it really is easy and so much fun to have hanging up.  I want to make a rainbow one next!  I have a 4th of July one planned out with some extra red, white and blue stars and stripes fabric I’ve had laying around.
Below is the little girl one I made for 3 little girls coming over to play with me and my camera with lots of fun girly accessories tomorrow!
Bunting Flags 005
Happy Bunting!
Linking to:
At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, A Simply Klassic Home, Twigg Studio, My 1929 Charmer, Not Just A Housewife, Meet Me Mondays, A Bowl Full of Lemons, It’s Overflowing, Chatty Chics, Southern Product Queen, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple
5 responses »

  1. I Love these no-sow buntings- thank you for sharing! I found you over at the picket fence!This post and others on your blog are just the sort of thing we welcome over at Seasonal Celebration- so if you fancy popping by every Monday you're welcome! http:naturalmothersnetwork.comHave a great weekend!Rebecca x

    Reply
  2. How fun! I guess there are so many different ways and patterns to do with this! So creative! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing at my place!Melody

    Reply
  3. Hooray! Something I can actually make! Thanks for a no sew banner!I'd love for you to link up and share: http://tutusandteaparties.blogspot.com/2012/02/pinteresting-party-week-28.html

    Reply
  4. I love buntings of any kind, but no sew is a favorite way to get a pretty project done in no time. Love your buntings. Very pretty color combinations. Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration at Sunday's Best Par.tay!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

