RSS Feed

Home Command Center

Home Project #11
command center
I decided to get a head start on spring cleaning! I was so tired of the counters and table constantly being covered with papers and ‘stuff’.  How so much stuff gets piled up so quickly I still haven’t figured out!  I’m sure everyone has a spot in your home where everything gets dumped. {please tell me I’m not the only one?!!!}  So I created my own Home Command Center knowing full well stuff will get dumped on it but, at least we have a spot for the ‘stuff’ so I can feel some what organized even amidst the clutter.

This wall has always been awkward in the kitchen because of where the intercom and light switch are {both are so annoying because every cute piece of furniture I’ve wanted to put there just didn’t work because of them} and nothing too deep or it just feels cramped in a heavy traffic area of the kitchen.
Home Command Center

Here is the low down on where I found my accesoriess but, really so many items you already have can be used in making your own Home Command Center that works for your family. Grab your extra baskets, buckets and get organizing!

  1. I found the file holder at T.J. Max $19.99. I was supper excited as I’ve seen similar items at PB for 3x’s the cost.
  2. New magnetic white board with black frame at Wal-Mart for around $13.
  3. Cork Board {Calendar Hanging on it} at Wal-Mart for around $6.
  4. Bookcase at Wal-Mart for around $16.
  5. 2 Baskets with liners from Wal-Mart $7 each plus a couple of other baskets I had already.
  6. Ceramic Egg Carton (Jewelry/Small Trinket Holder) from Anthropology $16. {Got that at Christmas and love it!}
So I took a picture before it gets too cluttered up but, I figure I will get the cell phones/ipods/electronics a recharging docking station set up since there is a plug behind the bookcase.  I have a silver bowl I’m going to add for my glasses. I want to add some sort of decorative knob or hook between the light switch and the intercom.  The baskets can collect the ‘stuff’ and my purse fits on the shelf.  Each of my children have a file folder for home work or school papers and I have a miscellaneous file for receipts and odd and end papers.  So far I love how it is coming together and looking more uniform.
*Update- I’ve already changed the baskets around and added things. I’ve learned that you have to make sure these kind of things work for you. Ours is working and I love it but, I’m not afraid to add or delete things we don’t need.
I’m really hoping to get working on those kitchen cabinets since the island has been done for over a month but, every time I get up the energy I spend time cleaning off the counters.  Hopefully this little project will help with that! Also, you can find out more about my kitchen paint color Rocky Mountain Sky by Behr here and here.
At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, A Simply Klassic HomeNot Just A Housewife, Meet Me Mondays, A Bowl Full of Lemons, It’s Overflowing, Chatty Chics, Southern Product Queen, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple, Natural Mother’s Network
3 responses »

  1. I'm a huge fan of utilizing wall space to help conquer paper clutter. :)Looks great!~H

    Reply
  2. Good job! Look how organized it all is! That inspires me to clean up my stuff! Melody

    Reply
  3. Thank you so much for sharing your post with us on Natural Mothers Network! Have done a a bit of organisation myself this morning, I was so inspired.I am really looking forward to hosting the Seasonal Celebration Linky Party #8 going live tomorrow and hope you'll pop over sometime-you're always welcome!http://naturalmothersnetwork.com/category/seasonal-celebration-sunday/ Have a great weekend!Rebecca x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

