RSS Feed

Tutorial Moss Topiaries

Topiaries 004
Quick, fun and inexpensive project for Spring Decorating! I had so much fun making these Moss Topiaries on whim yesterday after finding all the supplies at Wal-Mart in the candle/floral isle when I went to pick up a few new spring colored candles for the mantel.
~What You Will Need For Moss Topiaries~
Container, floral foam base, foam ball, floral moss, natural accents moss foam nugget accents, sticks for your stem and hot glue.
Topiaries 002
I reconstructed one topiary and made another one from scratch. Start with your base and cut the foam to fit your container…I used a steak knife. Then find some thin sticks or cut a branch of a bush and pull the leaves off to be used for your stem. I used 2 small sticks and floral taped them together or wire would work too. Place your foam ball on your stem and then place your stem into your floral base. Next start gluing on your floral accent foam nuggets…I used only the small ones in the package and saved the large ones for something else. Once you have your moss nuggets glued on start gluing on the moss by pulling the moss apart and gluing it like a patch work puzzle until you have covered the whole foam ball.
Topiaries 003
I then glued moss around the stem and then placed a few small moss nuggets on top of the moss and glued those in as well. I happened to get the topiary I reconstructed on clearance 5 years ago and it has been sitting around waiting to be re-done.  The other container I just picked up at the thrift store and thought it was perfect for spring decorating.  So be on the look out for some cute containers at the second hand stores or clearance departments.
Topiaries 001
I have been working hard in the kitchen last week on my cabinets {besides also having my head all stuffed up, no voice, husband out of town/single parent for the week, twins birthday mid week and the comings and going of 5 busy kids} and I hope to have them finished by the end of this week.  It has been a more tedious project then I thought and I am trying to not rush the process.
Here is a mid way sneak peak…
IMG_3864IMG_3889
I am loving how much lighter my kitchen feels! Now to get back to work and knock it out and put the paint away for awhile!
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, A Simply Klassic Home, Not Just A Housewife, Meet Me Mondays, A Bowl Full of Lemons, It’s Overflowing, Chatty Chics, Southern Product Queen, Young House Love, Bower Power Blog, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple, The Shabby Cottage52 Mantels, Savvy Southern Natural Mother’s Network
6 responses »

  1. You were kind enough to leave a comment on my blog about our photo booth at our anniversary party. My niece actually got the props off Etsy but you could easily do them with a die cutting system (I use the Cricut). Thanks so much for visiting!

    Reply
  2. These look great. I have some old, what I think are made of paper, toparies, I would love to give them an update. I will give your method a try. Thanks! Great job!

    Reply
  3. Those are just adorable!! Great job!!Katie @ Little Becky Homeckyhttp://littlebeckyhomecky.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. These are awesome! They look really expensive but I bet they were super – cheap. I love Wal Mart 🙂

    Reply
  5. Thanks so much for sharing this tutorial. I'm really getting interested in learning how to make different types of topiaries for my flower shop.

    Reply
  6. Oh Stacey! These look awesome! I need to make a few for my foyer! Thanks for the tutorial. Never thought of making my own before! Great job!Melody

    Reply

Leave a Reply

