RSS Feed

Kitchen Cabinet Face Lift

Painted Kitchen Cabinets 006
I love how the cabinets turned out and I love how much brighter my kitchen is! I will be honest…I don’t ever want to do this project again by myself, being sick, sick kids, husband out of town and it seems like I painted for days.  Just a bigger project than I thought it would be and the cabinets aren’t perfect. In fact lots of areas still need touch ups, I was going to distress them but, I couldn’t decide the best way to go about that. I just decided to take them how they are for now and get my life back in order!
Painted Kitchen Cabinets 001
Here are a few more pics and I will save all the details for another post as I am off to enjoy the 80 degree weather and sunshine with the kids!
I’m updating the post to include the details:
I did not take the doors off the hinges…if you have no show hinges I was told it is very difficult to get the doors to hang straight. Carpenter’s adjust the hinges as they hang the doors and I didn’t want to chance it seeing as my hinges were already bent on some of the doors.  I did take all the knobs off and I pulled the drawers out and set them on the counter. Get yourself a good angled brush, small foam rollers for and then I used children’s water color brushes to get around the hinges and small cracks.
I first primed everything with Zinsser Latex Primer. You don’t have to Prime with the paint I used but, I found a good coat of Primer helps to cover especially if you are going from a dark wood to white.
This is the first coat of primer in process.
IMG_3869
Next I used Benjamin Moore Cabinet Coat Paint tinted to Swiss Coffee by Behr which just softened the white to have a creamy white. I only used about 1/2 the gallon for my whole kitchen and have plenty left over for touch ups and more projects.
IMG_3881IMG_3882
I was originally going to use the Impervo or Advanced paint by Benjamin Moore but, was talked out of it by the paint store salesman and he told me to try this. It is a latex that dries hard like oil so easier clean up and it dries faster than the oil. It also doesn’t need to be primed and as it dries it smooth’s itself out so you don’t see the brush marks like regular paint. It also is easier to use for touch up’s if you do get a scratch or ding because of the way it smooth’s itself out as well. I had to use 2 coats and in places I didn’t prime real well I had to do more than 2 coats which is why I suggest doing a good priming job so your dark wood doesn’t show through.  So far it has held up really well and the finish is nice and smooth. I liked the paint much better than the oil paint I used on the black Kitchen Island Face Lift .

Painted Kitchen Cabinets 003Painted Kitchen Cabinets 002Painted Kitchen Cabinets 004

This cabinet is sure pretty but, it was a lot of work!

painted Kitchen Cabinets 005

I still plan to distress and glaze the cabinets but, for now I’m enjoying it how it is!
Have a wonderful Spring Weekend!
Other related links: Kitchen Island Face Lift , Rocky Mountain Sky wall paint color , Cabinets painted in Swiss Coffee
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, A Simply Klassic Home, Not Just A Housewife, Meet Me Mondays, A Bowl Full of Lemons, It’s Overflowing, Savvy Southern Style, Chatty Chics, Southern Product Queen, Young House Love, Bower Power Blog, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple, Shabby Creek Cottage, 52 Mantels, Natural Mother’s Network, Thrifty Decor Chick
21 responses »

  1. Wow! That looks just beautiful! Lighter and brighter and shows off the details much better. Thank you so much for sharing this at Inspiration Friday this week!Vanessa

    Reply
  2. Wow Stacey, your kitchen looks amazing! I love it! Makes me want to paint mine. Would love to hear what kind of paint you used and any tips or tricks that made your big task easier.

    Reply
  3. LOVE this makeover!! Your kitchen looks so much lighter and brighter!

    Reply
  4. Such a difference – so light and pretty!Thanks for sharing at Simply Klassic!

    Reply
  5. Oh My Gosh! It's beautiful! You should have posted really LARGE pictures of it! Your kitchen is fabulous! Great job!MelodyOne Chatty Chic

    Reply
  6. Nice. Sure made a difference. It's like the kitchen grew larger. I don't envy you that job even being well. Good job.

    Reply
  7. Love your new changes! Kitchen looks so much brighter now!

    Reply
  8. Wow!!! This looks beautiful!!!

    Reply
  9. Wonderful kitchen redo! Looks great!dee dee

    Reply
  10. What a change. How brave are you! It is voice and airy in there now.

    Reply
  11. What a huge transformation! You did a great job, really brightened it up. Would love to have you join my weekly newbie party. Starting tonight, great way to make some new friends.

    Reply
  12. Isn't it amazing what paint can transform. The whole kitchen looks brighter and larger. So glad to learn about the BM cabinet paint. I still have to tackle the bathroom cabinets and was going to use the Impervo. Thanks for sharing at Wow.

    Reply
  13. Amazing transformation!! I can't believe what a difference a paint job makes!! I'm featuring this today!! Thanks for linking up last week!

    Reply
  14. I know it was a lot of work, but it truly is BEAUTIFUL! I'M INSPIRED TO PAINT MINE!!!!Hope everyone is feeling better, too!Found you from Donna' FJI SNS!Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  15. This is perfect timing for me! I am just starting to tackle this job. I have not heard of this paint before. I was thinking about the Advanced. I think it's low in VOC's. But I like that this one is self leveling. I'll be sure to ask my BM dealer about it. Thanks! Your kitchen looks fantastic. So much brighter. Which is what I'm hoping it will do for mine!

    Reply
  16. very pretty! well done

    Reply
  17. Oh wow, Stacey! It looks like a new kitchen. I especially love that glass cabinet.

    Reply
  18. Thanks for linking up @CountryMommaCooks Link and Greet Party……hope to see you again tonight:)

    Reply
  19. What color are your walls? I love them!

    Reply
  20. They are Rocky Mountain Sky by Behr. Search my blog and I have several posts on the color.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

