RSS Feed

DIY Laundry Basket Shelving

DIY Laundry Basket Shelving 001
I have seen several plans for Laundry Basket Shelving out in Blog Land with fancy trim and handy husbands that designed them.  I have admired them and dreamed for something to fit in my laundry room.  Do you remember my Laundry Room Make-Over a few years ago? It need a good spring clean and the table was just a dumping ground.

This morning after mentioning my dreams of a more organized dirty/clean laundry room my husband and I set out to Lowe’s to buy supplies to make something of the sorts.  We measured before we set out with a basic drawing of what we were trying to accomplish in our small space.

We stopped by Wal-Mart first and picked up 6 new laundry baskets.  These just happen to be the cheapest and the right size for our space.
6 x $2.97= $18
Before walking over to the wood department we stopped by the closet and shelving organization department and saw these black shelving units.  The size was almost perfect and we knew we just would take the top 2 shelves and put them out in the shed.
shelving
So much easier than having to cut wood and paint it with super easy assembly. What was even better was no tools required so any of us could do it. It will wipe clean and the price was right too.
Within 1 hour and some cleaning…
DIY Laundry Basket Shelving 002
I also hung my cute sign that sat on the old table over my hooks…
Laundry Room
Total was about $60 and 1 hour to have reclaimed the laundry room.  I think I will write names on each basket and one end will say clean and the other dirty.  The plan is the kids put their laundry in the basket, I wash it and return it into the basket on the shelf flipping their basket to say clean.  So much better than baskets and piles of laundry on the floor and out in my hall which is close to the front door!
Those of you with not so handy husbands that’s how you can organize your laundry all by yourself with no tools needed!
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, Under the Table and Dreaming, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, Mod Vintage Life, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Making Monday marvelous, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Mad Skills, Making the World Cuter, Made by you Mondays, Just something I whipped up Mondays, Market yourself Monday, Show it of Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, More the Merrier Monday, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Natural Mother’s Network
20 responses »

  1. My laundry room needs help…this has definitely motivated me to do something about it. Thanks for this awesome post.

    Reply
  2. What great vision to see the possibility of using these two items together! A perfect fit size-wise and it will certainly help floor clutter from gathering to have a place for all the baskets! :)~H

    Reply
  3. I have the same set up with my w & d stacked. I've looked at those ana white shelves so many times trying to figure out if I could do it myself- I have a non handy hubby. How wide is your space and the shelving unit. Did you get the shelves at Lowes? Thanks for posting this.-Suzanne

    Reply
  4. Darling idea I am so on it!!! Working on a laundry reveal as we speak!

    Reply
  5. Hi Suzanne! The shelving unit I bought was from Lowe's and it was 36 inches across and 2 ft deep. It was 72 inches tall but I took off the top two shelves. It is super light weight and snap together fit so no tools needed! My laundry room has never stayed this organized and cleaned this many days in a row! Loving how much easier is to do laundry and that I can keep the laundry room door open instead of shutting it in shame! LOL

    Reply
  6. Looking good! My quest to organize my home has begun! Heaven help me!Hopping over from DIY Dreamer link party:))

    Reply
  7. I love it…so fun to have an organized laundry room! Thanks for sharing with the newbie party.

    Reply
  8. Wow! That is so cool. It makes me want to do that in my laundry room. I've nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Please stop by when you get a moment to check it out. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Your laundry room looks great! Those baskets are definitely going to keep you organized! Stopping by from Debbie's newbie party.

    Reply
  10. Gotta appreciate an organized laundry. That's one of my biggest pet peeves, when the clean laundry gets mixed up with the dirty. Then you have to start all over. No fun.Visiting from The Somewhat Simple Linky Party, hope you'll stop by my blog too. :)Thanks for sharing,Laura

    Reply
  11. I love your laundry room. Wish I'd seen this post before now. I've got nice shelving but haven't exactly found the right baskets to help get it more organized. I'm working on it though.

    Reply
  12. Um, brilliant! I have always wanted to do these shelves in my laundry room but didn't want to build it. Such a great idea!!Thanks for sharing at Simply Klassic!

    Reply
  13. Hello! I'm visiting from the Link & Greet at Country Momma Cooks. I couldn't be anymore impressed! I love the valance over the wire shelving…clever! And I really love your idea to flip the baskets for clean/dirty laundry. This is brilliant. I have to pin this to my laundry room board. I'm really looking forward to following your blog!Sharon @ mrs. hines class

    Reply
  14. Love this idea!!!! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  15. Thanks so much for linking up @CountryMommaCooks….have a wonderful Sunday:)

    Reply
  16. I love it all!!! I want your laundry room… every last piece of it!!! Even the hooks!! Oh and the green wall… WOW!Thanks so much for sharing at The DIY Dreamer.. From Dream To Reality!

    Reply
  17. Organization is bliss!! Love the sign and I have the same hook rack, just came out of my pantry. Maybe it will end up in my laundry room too!Thanks for sharing on Show Off Saturday!XO

    Reply
  18. Absolutely love your laundry room!! We loved having you link up to our "Strut Your Stuff Saturday." Hope you'll be back soon! -The Sisters

    Reply

Leave a Reply

