RSS Feed

T-Shirt Bracelets

T-Shirt Bracelets 001

I created these cute t-shirt bracelets the other day.  I of course got my inspiration and idea from Pinterest.  I have had a stack of old t-shirts ready to be made into something.  I originally planned to make more headbands, scarfs and necklaces but, when I saw this idea I knew I had to try it! It completes the accessory list!

T-Shirt Bracelets 002
I started by cutting a few strips off the bottom of my t-shirt and then tied them together to make a piece of knit fabric that I used like yarn.  Depending on how thick you want your bracelet you can double up the strips of fabric or cut wider stripes.  This was a total experiment for me to get the right thickness and length I wanted.  The dark gray bracelet I doubled up 2 strips thick. I also stretched the strips out once tied together because it will give you more length.
Now the fun part! How many of you use to knit with your fingers as a kid? I so loved doing it and would sleep with a big giant chain hooked to my fingers because I was trying to see how long I could make the chain always wanting to out do the last one! I would do it for hours on end but, the only problem was that I would have giant chains and didn’t know what to do with them.  I think I even tried selling them to the neighbors.  If you don’t know how to knit with your fingers you will need to go look up how to do it (I have no idea to explain it) but, this is what it looks like…I just used 2 fingers but, you can do up to all 4.
T-Shirt Bracelets 003
I will admit I tore it out a few times until I got the hang of it again…all from memory as a kid from 30+ years ago! It didn’t take long at all. 
When I knitted a chain long enough I slipped the end of my yarn through the last 2 loops on my fingers to finish it off and then tied the 2 ends of the chain together. I have thin wrists and mine look a little small but, the bracelets have stretch to them as they slip over your hand. Then I clipped off the ends (not shown in the picture) and it would be cute to leave strands hanging too with multiple color bracelets.
T-Shirt Bracelets 004
There you have it! I made the light gray one out of a tank top and the fabric was different texture and I like putting them together.  So many possibilities with old t-shirt and you could even dye white t-shirts like I did here.
Do you know how hard is it to take pictures one handed of your other hand? I think I did pretty good!
T-shirt bracelets 005
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, Under the Table and Dreaming, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, Mod Vintage Life, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Making Monday marvelous, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Mad Skills, Making the World Cuter, Made by you Mondays, Just something I whipped up Mondays, Market yourself Monday, Show it of Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, More the Merrier Monday, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A HousewifeA Bowl Full of LemonsShare The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern,   Natural Mother’s Network

17 responses »

  1. Cute idea for a bracelet…Mel's Designs…God Loves You…

    Reply
  2. Absolutely fabulous. Love. them. :)MelodyOne Chatty Chic

    Reply
  3. These are so cute! Flashback to my childhood and hot loops minus the fluorescent colours 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much for linking up @CountryMommaCooks….have a wonderful Sunday:)

    Reply
  5. These are beautiful! I can't wait to teach my daughter.

    Reply
  6. These are so cute! I might even be able to manage this one! 🙂 Thanks for sharing on Show Off Saturday!XO

    Reply
  7. These are fabulous! So practical. Thank you so much for linking up to Made With Love at Sew Chatty today! Have a great week!

    Reply
  8. These are lovely, look awesome!

    Reply
  9. They looks so great – brilliant idea!

    Reply
  10. Look very summery and stylish!

    Reply
  11. Hi! I'm your newest follower and co-host of this month's blog hop. Thanks so much for joining in on the fun 🙂 I'm looking forward to getting you know you better!This is a genius idea! I love the casual/chic feel of it.

    Reply
  12. Love your version of these bracelets! They look fabulous!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  13. Those are just the cutest. Thanks so much for sharing with the newbie party.

    Reply
  14. Super cute bracelets! Thanks for sharing at Simply Klassic!

    Reply
  15. this is so cute! I'm featuring this on scrappy saturdays this week!

    Reply
  16. That is awesome!! I always need another idea to use my t-shirts for, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  17. Will try to this! Good luck to me! Hahaha!By the way, I mentioned you on my blog, http://feileacangirl.blogspot.com/2012/05/do-it-yourself.html ,I hope that's okay.Kudos.xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

