RSS Feed

Reusable/Recycled Animal Feed Bag Tote

Animal Feed Bag Totes 001Animal Feed Bag Totes 005
I finally broke out my brand new sewing machine that my husband bought me for Christmas…I know about time! We have been rearranging again and I have a craft/sewing area now that I am really excited about.
To start you need an Animal Feed Bag. 

I have been collecting them from the barn and have a stack of colors and animals to make. My animals feed come in the paper bags and though would work they wouldn’t hold up well.  These are plastic feeling white on the inside and more like woven plastic fabric…not sure what it is called? They don’t rip easily and have a slick water repellent finish. I love the horse feed bags but, as you can see I tried out my first one on a dog food bag which turned out great as well.

Wash your bags first!  I gave this job to the kids who enjoyed playing in the hose while they cleaned them.
 Animal Feed Bag Totes 002
Next you will want to cut a little more than 8 inches off the top of the bag and save that for the handles. Then cut the white paper seam off the bottom.  The dog food bag didn’t have that seam and I didn’t alter the bottom at all.
Next you will want to turn your bag inside out and make a seam along the bottom.  I then created a 4 inch triangle and sewed along the bottom of the triangle to make the corners of the bag.
Animal Feed Bag Totes 003
Then I hemmed the top of the bag by folding over a couple of times and stitching along the top and bottom of the fold.
Next take the top of the bag and cut 4 inch stripes across.  Then cut down the side to make one long strip to make your handles.  I folded each edge towards the center and then folded over and pinned.  My handles were approximately 26 inches.  I sewed 2 seams again on on each edge of the strap.
Animal Feed Bag Totes 004
Then it was time to pin and sew the handles onto the bag. I found it easiest to measure with a ruler and pin. I sewed mine 4 inches in on either side and about an inch below the seam.  I pinned all 4 first to make sure everything lined up and that each strap was the same length.  I then sewed them on in a box and the dog food one I enforced by making an X in the box and I still need to finish reinforcing the horse feed bag.
That was it! I am not much of sewer and I don’t really know how to follow a pattern.  I made 1 bag in less than an hour…I think it took me more time to set up the sewing machine and figure out how to load the bobbin!  I do love my new sewing machine and now that it has a place to stay set up I just might learn how to sew better!
So over all very easy project for a beginner sewer…believe me they aren’t perfect and don’t have perfect straight seams but, it doesn’t matter!  I love the fact that I recycled trash into something useful and you can’t beat the price of free!  I think these will make great grocery sacks or even pool/beach totes for towels because they are water proof.
Update: Here’s a few more bags I’ve made since the first two.  I adapted the size to accommodate the graphics.
Animal Feed Bag Totes 006Animal Feed Bag Totes 007
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World CuterMarket yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Natural Mother’s Network
26 responses »

  1. Neat idea, I have a friend with horses, just messaged her to see if she has any of these type bags! Pinned.

    Reply
  2. Intriguing. I have chicken feed bags.

    Reply
  3. I love this idea – I have lots of feed sacks, and can think of several friends that would just go nuts to get them as a gift! Oh, and I'm visiting from Flamingo Toes :)Michellemylifeinpodunk.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. This is such a great idea! Thank you so much for sharing it at Meet Me Monday! I like this idea so much that I have tried to post this comment about ten times. Seriously. : ) It keeps kicking me off but I wanted you to know that I am sharing it right now on my facebook. I am also going to get my sis to save me some horse feed bags. I think you should sell these on Etsy. They are sooooo folksy and original. So there. : ) I told you I liked this! I can't wait for my readers to see it. Great job and thanks for sharing it! Love, Me http://www.youaretalkingtoomuch.com

    Reply
  5. Thanks so much! I have seen these bags selling for $20+ at a craft fair and I just might look into selling them on Etsy or fundraiser for the animal rescues. I really appreciate you sharing! They really are fun and easy to make!

    Reply
  6. My animals might be getting their food brand changed to Purina so I can make more bags and not have to dig them out of the trash at the barn! Thanks for the comment!

    Reply
  7. If they are the plastic fabric kind and not paper…go for it! The chicken ones are so cute but, I had to adapt my pattern to keep the cute chicken from getting cut off! Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  8. I hope she has the ride kind of bags for you! My horses feed comes in the paper bags. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  9. Happy Monday! Just wanted to let you know that I featured your upcycled t-shirt bracelets at the Pink Hipo party @ http://pinkapotamus.blogspot.com/2012/04/pink-hippo-party-77.htmlHope you share these adorable upcycled bags too .. and I am your newest follower!

    Reply
  10. Thanks so much for featuring me and your nice comments! Yes, I will be joining the party later today! Thanks again!

    Reply
  11. Too cute…I have a ton of feed bags!! I am going to pin this for all to see (but mainly for me to come back too, when I have time)!! :)Thanks for the great idea!Denise

    Reply
  12. LOL. I LOVE THIS. I knew there was a reason I didn't throw out my latest bag of 'Taste of the Wild' dogfood! The bags are so pretty. This is perfect. And I like to advertise it too because it's grain free and good for my sweet doggies! I'm pinning this!I'm your newest follower. Follow me back? :-))

    Reply
  13. I love this idea. Having moved to a farm community about 10 years ago, it has given me a new love for farm 'things'. Will have to share with my friends. I am one of your newest followers also.

    Reply
  14. Great work on those bags – they look fabulous!! What a great idea!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  15. Have fun making them! They didn't take that much time to make which I like fast and easy projects!

    Reply
  16. These are great! What kind of thread did you use?Found you through Not Just a Housewife.

    Reply
  17. Wow – what a great idea!

    Reply
  18. These totes are just divine, what a simple but brilliant idea! I loved having you link up to our "Seasonal Celebration Sunday" Hope you'll be back Sunday! Rebecca @ Natural Mothers Network x

    Reply
  19. What a fun idea! We loved having you come to our "Strut Your Stuff Saturday." We hope you'll be back again soon! -The Sisters

    Reply
  20. Stumbled on your blog via a link up. LOVE this idea, pinned it!

    Reply
  21. I just have to feature these this coming weekend on scrappy saturdays!!! I love how you took "trash" and turned it into a reusable bag! that is awesome!

    Reply
  22. DO YOU CUT THE BOTTOM OF BAG OFF HOW DO YOU DO BOTTOM THANKS VICKY

    Reply
  23. Sorry for the late follow up…I justed used regular all purpose thread and was just the cheap thread from walmart. Thanks for stopping by. Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  24. Yes I trim the bottom. I show you how to sew the corners for the bottom in the post. Thanks for stopping by. Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  25. I too love this idea and have tried making them in the past. I always seem to have a "tension" problem sewing on this "slippery" feed bag fabric….Do you have any tips for uneven stitches (that don't look so great)! Thank you in advance 🙂

    Reply
  26. Do you sell these bags? They are so cute!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

