RSS Feed

DIY Framed Poster Prints

Framed Poster Prints 001

I recently took pictures of the Atlanta LDS Temple {that I had you leave me comments on below of which ones I should choose} with the intentions of replacing the pictures in these frames.  The original pictures are of Savannah Georgia and I loved them and I love Savannah…they have faded a lot and it was time to replace them.

I edited my pictures using Photoshop and I have a professional action which helped me antique them. You can use Picasa Editing that is free to change the effect of your pictures if you don’t have another editing software. I then uploaded them to Costco print shop online and ordered them in 20×30 poster print.  I love Costco and you can’t beat the price of $8.99 each.  Staples wanted $80+ dollars to do about the same thing in color…yeah $8.99 sounds a lot better! It took about 24 hours before I could pick them up.  My Costco prints the big prints around 1pm is what I learned so that’s why I say give 24 hours for your Costco to print them just in case.

Framed Poster Prints 002

These prints and frames originally I purchased on clearance for $12 each about 6 years ago from Kirkland’s Green Tag Sale…I know it was a super deal and I bought 3 different ones! Super Deal and like I said I have loved them hanging in my living room!

First thing I did was take them off the wall and pull off the paper baking to expose staples and another backing.

Framed Poster Prints 003

I had a friend {cute College Student home for the Summer} over helping me get my car from the shop and asked for her assistance. I got the tools and she started prying away the staples.  We didn’t do all the staples just enough so we could pull up the backing.  The original pictures were actually glued to the backing so we just slid in the poster prints.  I got out my hand vacuum to get any of the backing and dust that had gotten on the glass.  We taped the print down to the matting and then shut it all back up.  We then bent the staples back over to hold the backing and hung it back up on the wall.  It was less than 30 minutes for both of them.

Framed Poster Prints 004

This is a beautiful peace of art work hanging right by my front door and I love looking at it as I come and go through out the day. The Atlanta LDS Temple is such a beautiful special place.  I am going to be on the look out for more bargain frames at Kirkland’s and Thrift stores…especially ugly prints that I won’t mind covering up to make more beautiful pieces of art in my home. 

They say kids always remember the Art Work in their childhood home and the Art usually has special meaning to them when they are older.  I know that is true for me of a painting my Grandmother did that hung in my Dad’s home.  By taking these pictures myself not only is it great to look at on the wall but, it will have special meaning to my children that I was the one behind the camera that created it.

I could collect pictures of all the Temples around the world to hang in my home as they are such beautiful buildings.

To learn more about Temples or my faith click here.

Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Natural Mother’s Network

7 responses »

  1. Hope you stop by and join in the fun at my new Under 300 followers blog hop!http://pinkapotamus.blogspot.com/2012/05/under-300-followers-blog-hop.html

    Reply
  2. Lovely!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  3. Not sure how I blog-hopped and ended here, but glad i did. The photography is beautiful.

    Reply
  4. Your poster art turned out beautifully! Found you through Debbiedoo's Newbie Party! I'm happy to be now following and look forward to seeing more of your delightful blog. Have a wonderful night!Sharla

    Reply
  5. Very impressive, I love it! Thanks for coming to Natural Mother's “Seasonal Celebration Sunday.” I would love to see you again next week!! Rebecca x

    Reply
  6. LOVE your new Art frame!! It's really beautiful!Thanks so much for sharing at The DIY Dreamer.. From Dream To Reality! I can't wait to see what you link up this evening!

    Reply
  7. I truly like to reading your post. Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a nice information. I'll definitely add this great post in my article section.Poster Printing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

