RSS Feed

Southwestern Chicken & Vegetable Chowder

Southwestern Chowder

This has been my go to staple soup recipe lately.  I have been working to change our families eating habits to less processed foods and more veggies.  My kids aren’t thrilled about this change but, this recipe is one I seem to get them to eat and it is so easy to make. This can be adapted for whatever vegetables you might have on hand. I probably make this slightly different every time depending on what I have or feel like. You can use fresh vegetables, canned veggies or a combination of both.

Grab your soup pot or your slow cooker and begin dumping ingredients.

1 carton Vegetable or Chicken Broth

2 cups cooked chicken shredded or cubed

1 zucchini cut up

1 can corn drained

1 can beans – kidney, black beans, pinto beans, etc. drained

1 can green beans drained

Approx. 1 cup chopped carrots

Approx. 2 stalks chopped celery

Approx. 1 cup Salsa depending on your liking

Optional add 1 can or fresh cut up tomatoes’

I also add spices to season if I don’t have Salsa but no specific amounts like White Pepper, Chili Powder, Cumin, Oregano, Garlic Powder or Onion Powder or any of your other favorite soup spices.

Bring everything to a boil and cook until veggies are done. I then turn heat down and sometimes add a small amount of cheese or milk to make it creamy but, completely optional as well.

I’ve also added cooked pasta or omitted the chicken.  This recipe is so versatile and so easy to throw together last minute. I hope it gives you some inspiration to make a yummy and healthy soup for your family.

Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Natural Mother’s Network

3 responses »

  1. Yum! looks good! I never thought about putting zucchini in soups, not sure why – it is a great idea! 🙂 Do your kids like sweet potatoes or kale? I've been making a dish lately with those too in it (recipe in my latest entry) that takes about 15 min. to make and my family looooves it (just had it for lunch today again, actually). Have a great weekend!~Kellywww.leafynotbeefy.com

    Reply
  2. mmmmm looks so good! I loved that you linked this up at Seasonal Celebration Sunday!- thank you! Rebecca@Natural Mothers Network x

    Reply
  3. I need more healthy recipes. This looks so good. Please come and share these at my linky party!http://www.igottatrythat.com/p/blog-hop-linky-colde.htmlThanksMarcie @ http://www.IGottaTryThat.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

