RSS Feed

Rocking Chair Re-do

Rocking Chair Redo 001
I had seen several of these old spindle rocking chairs in thrift stores and I decided to buy one for my living room.  I’ve always wanted an old rocking chair for my house.  Of course I didn’t love the wood tones and wanted to add some fun to it! 

I believe this spray paint is called Lagoon Blue by Rust-0leum.  I didn’t sand a thing and just went to town spraying knowing I was going to distress it when I was finished anyways.  This new ultra cover spray paint worked great!  I think I only used one can for the whole chair…I say I think because it has been a couple of weeks since I did this and so much has happened between then that I can’t remember using or buying a second can!

rocking chair redo 002
I added a cute ruffle pillow that I had bought at Ross…I love Ross by the way.  I find all sorts of throw pillows there for under $10 all the time.  This one might have been $12 because it was bigger! I love it though!  The chair came out really cute.  I still would like to give it a glaze when the kids go back to school and life calms down.  The paint dried well and I took a sanding block to age it.  It has held up great to my kids so far and haven’t even put a wax finish on it.  So thumbs up for the new spray paint!
living room
This is my living room that has come together nicely and I am enjoying for the Summer.  I love the pops of Aqua. I say enjoying it for the Summer because once school starts back my Living Room turns into a Seminary Class Room for High School students.  Lovely plastic tables and chairs come out and most all my cute home décor goes away except for what hangs on the walls. My husband teaches a bible study class every school day morning at 6:40am for High School students for our church.  I’m not sure where my cute new chair will end up in another 6 weeks but, I am trying not to think about that.  Good news is that our new church building just around the corner from the High School is breaking ground on July 24th and hopefully this will be the last year we have to host seminary in our living room!
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Southern Lovely, Natural Mother’s Network

Leave a Reply

