RSS Feed

All Natural Bug Repellent–Mint Leaves or Mint Listerine

While on our trip to Nauvoo, IL learning about the Mormon Pioneers that established the city we learned that dried mint ground up and mixed with a little water makes a great bug repellent. 
One of the volunteers gave us some dried mint and we brought it home with us.  I had my daughter put it in the Vitamix blender to grind it up.  We mixed a little water in a small bowl and rubbed it into our skin.
Or,
Mint Listerine
Mint Listerine works as well.
I tried both out in Forest on our Pioneer Trek and they both worked great.  I poured my Mint Listerine in an old spray bottle and kept it in my car. Best part is I smelled good and my skin did not feel sticky or coated with bug spray.  I also sprayed my clothes and around where I was. It can be used around your tent or chair.  I was told Fly’s, Chigger’s, Mosquito’s, Ant’s and other pesky bugs are naturally repelled by mint and from what I could tell it worked great.  When I want to eat out on the back patio I think I will try spraying the Listerine and see if that helps with our fly problem.
I plan to buy and plant mint around my house, garden and have on hand for my all natural bug repellent needs.
Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Country Mamma Cooks, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Nutmeg Place, A Simply Klassic Home, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, C.R.A.F.T, Mad In Crafts, Lines Across My Face, DIY Home Sweet Home, Singing Three Little Birds, Crafts Keep Me Sane, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Whats in the Gunny Sack, Do it ya Self, Creative Me Monday, Craft O Maniac, Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Share The Wealth Wednesday, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Southern Lovely, Natural Mother’s Network
12 responses »

  1. I have a ton of mint growing in my garden, but I like the Listerine tip even better. What a helpful tip!

    Reply
  2. I've tried the Listerine before.. it works.. but your skin gets sticky hehe I'm going to try the mint leaves!Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer.. From Dream To Reality!

    Reply
  3. If you plant mint, plant it in a container, or a garden that is separated from your lawn by a cement divider… it travels!Hugs

    Reply
  4. Really, I didn't feel sticky at all and felt refreshing! Hmmm…anything is better then bug spray!

    Reply
  5. I was thinking containers around the patio…we have burmuda grass that usually takes over my flower beds anyways. I live in the south where bugs are really pesky!

    Reply
  6. Really, I didn't feel sticky at all and felt refreshing! Hmmm…anything is better then bug spray!

    Reply
  7. Awesome! I hate using DEET and knowing it's not good for us. Mint beats that hands down. Here from Pink Flamingo's party.Janet

    Reply
  8. Wow what an interesting tip. I believe we have some listerine under the cabinet that I can try it out.thanks

    Reply
  9. What a great idea. I am hosting a Giveaway to win a 50 dollar gift card to the store HomeGoods. It would be great if you stopped by and entered. Thanks Anu

    Reply
  10. Thanks for stopping by! You will love the Mint!

    Reply
  11. Make sure it is Mint flavored! Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  12. Cedar is an all-natural bug repellent, their bodies just can't handle it. Anyone with a cedar wood house will never have any kind of bug.I live in Florida, where the bugs are outrageous, I have cedar spray. Its organic, so I spray it in my infant-daughter's stroller & car-seat, & all over my house – never have a bug.If you have any kind of cedar oil, water it down some & spray your house entirely. Not only will it smell great, but you'll be bug free!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

