RSS Feed

Guest Room

Remember my office that I have been trying to organize and make over…yeah, well maybe why it just never got done was that it really was suppose to be a guest room for a special young lady coming to stay with us. Our family decided to host a foreign exchange student and she needed a room to call her own. She arrives today and I hope she feels at home in the space I created for her.
Guest Room 001

She told me she liked the color green and I wanted to incorporate that but, still keep my cute no-sew curtains I had hanging in that room.  I needed to keep the cost down and use what we had.  The bed and nightstand came from my 8 yr. old daughters lavender room. The bedspread I picked up at Target for $25 with the matching green shag pillow and I feel like I splurged a little on the pillow at $15.  The other blue pillows came from Ross and were $8.99. The blue quilt came from my oldest daughters room from the foot of her bed that she never uses. The brown star was already hanging in the room.  The bulletin board I made still hangs on the wall that matches the curtains. The wall color is Millennium Plantation Beige by Duron but, it was mixed at Home Depot. 
Guest Room 003
I thought my cute blue lagoon rocking chair looks great in the corner and I paired it with a green fleece blanket I had from Ikea and again another cute pillow from Ross. I told my husband we needed a dresser and next thing I knew he came home with this darling Broyhill dresser with matching oval mirror (not pictured and needs to be secured on the top of the dresser) from a garage sale for $40 for both.  I must say he was mighty proud of this great find and I was shocked he of all people actually stopped at a garage sale!
Guest Room 002
Out of pocket expense was around $100.  I have a few empty frames for her to put pictures in and looking forward to having her be able to put a little bit of her own flair into her new home for 4 months.  When our student returns home I think I just might leave it as a guest room…who is up for visiting me?
Linking to:At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Martha Monday’s, Pink hippo party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Weekend Warrior, Creative Me Monday, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern,Southern Lovely, Serenity You, Debt Free Mommy

15 responses »

  1. I'll be booking my stay in your beautiful guest room … what does September look like?What an inviting space you created for your foreign exchange student! And isn't it funny how our diy-ing starts to rub off on our family? Husbands yard sale-ing and pulling things out of dumpsters …:)Linda

    Reply
  2. Stacey, the guest room looks AMAZING!!! WOW!! Your hubby did a great thing by buying the dresser and mirror… CRAZY cool!!Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer.. From Dream To Reality!

    Reply
  3. I'm sure she will love her room! It's really pretty and welcoming!

    Reply
  4. Sorry, it is occupied until after the Holidays! Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for hosting such fantastic blog hops!

    Reply
  6. The room looks fabulous! Who wouldn't be happy to move into that!!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  7. I just LOVE the colors! What a great room, so bright and fun!

    Reply
  8. Thanks and she does love it!

    Reply
  9. Thanks so much! It is simple but, yet fun! Thanks for hosting such great parties!

    Reply
  10. And she did love it! She loved that I incorporated her favorite color too! Thanks for stopping by and hosting such great parties!

    Reply
  11. Adorable room!! I love the rocking chair. I saw your other posts, too but for some reason the comment thing wouldn't work. We've got the same hangers, I think. I love how organized they make a small closet like mine look. Thanks so much for linking up with Making Space Mondays. I hope we see you back again next week! -Tabitha

    Reply
  12. Thanks so much for stopping by! Look forward to next week!

    Reply
  13. Beautiful job! I bet she loved it. Such a great welcome gift. We hosted a foreign exchange student before too, what a blessing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

