RSS Feed

Real Trash To Treasure Chair

I really did find this chair on the curb about 8 years ago.  I had my husband cut the plywood seat a few months later and yes it has taken me this long to finally paint and do something fun with it!
Chair Makeover 001

So first I spray painted it with the Rust-oleum Heirloom White. I love the ultra cover spray paint with the primer included.  It covers so much better than the regular spray paint and I use less paint.
I bought a foam pad for about $6 and then cut it to fit the plywood seat that my husband had made for it years ago.  When he had made the seat I had covered it with batting and fabric but, it wasn’t comfortable to sit in and needed the extra foam.
Chair Makeover 002
I stapled gunned my fabric (used the extra fabric that matched my drapes) to the seat and set it back on top of my chair and that’s it!  Why did I take so long to do it! I love it and my husband does too now that I finished one of those lurking projects with junk I have collected!
Chair Makeover 003
Only cost me the $6 for the foam because I had all the other supplies to complete my trash to treasure project!

Linking to:At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Weekend Soiree, Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Think Pink Sundays,I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Martha Monday’s, Debt Free Mommy, Pink Hippo Party,Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday, Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, House On The Way, Creative Me Monday,Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern,Southern Lovely, Serenity You

21 responses »

  1. That has turned out really nice. It amazing what a lick of paint and some nice fabric can do.

    Reply
  2. I love how fresh and stylish is looks now. Good job!

    Reply
  3. Visiting from Keeping it Simple's party…my piece was also found 8 years ago, so congratulations on finishing such a great chair.

    Reply
  4. Oh WOW!!!!! LOVE the chair!!! Can I have it… please?!Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream to Reality!

    Reply
  5. So pretty. GREAT MAKEOVER. Im now following you from PICKINandPAINTIN.blogspot.com. Please come visit me and maybe you'll decided to follow back??? THANKS. 😎

    Reply
  6. Well done for getting A Round To this chair makeover! Looks brilliant!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  7. Great find and a great makeover! Love the finish and the seat fabric. Stopping by from Wow Us Wednesday.

    Reply
  8. I've been wanting to redo a chair like this for a while, but for some reason it seems difficult to me so I've been procrastinating 🙂 You did a really great job, though! Love your choice of fabric!Found you at Savvy Southern Style linky party and I'm your newest follower…hope you'll follow back! :)Zorriewww.sugarandchic.com

    Reply
  9. This is beautiful! I have some $2 chairs that could use some new love like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  10. Great transformation! Love a good chair re-do! I would love for you to share this at my linky party, Twirl & Take a Bow at http://www.houseontheway.com. It would be a great addition! Leslie

    Reply
  11. I know isn't it amazing how trash can be easily transformed with a can of spray paint and left over fabric?! Thanks for stopping by! ~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  12. I am glad I am not the only one that hangs on to things for awhile…I think it turned out way better now than if I would have done it back then! Thanks for stopping by! ~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  13. Oh Christine! How much you willing to pay for my chair and maybe I would sell…wait no way I love it and it is priceless! Thanks for stopping by and giving comments on all the wonderful posts from your party! That must take you a long time! ~ staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  14. Thanks for hosting a great party and visiting all your party links! ~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  15. Thanks so much for stopping by and for the compliment! ~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  16. Sure thing Zorrie! Thanks for stopping by and I hope I gave you encouragement to redo your chair! ~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  17. Your welcome! Go get some spray paint and have fun with your chairs! ~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  18. Sure Leslie! Would love to share!~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  19. Your chair is soooo pretty. I just LOVE the fabric. Can you tell me where you got it and anything about it? I have been looking for a brown and white pattern for some time to no avail? Jut finding your blog. I will be back!! Have a great Sunday, Linda

    Reply
  20. Thanks for stopping by! Here is the link to the fabric and I ordered it from this site as well. There are a few different patterns to choose from all in chocolate brown http://www.fabric.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=ed666d96-d056-429d-a22f-a969fa6a642c~ Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  21. I just love how your chair turned out! I just re did two myself! Talk about saving money! Feel free to pop in & link up sometime! Visiting from DearCreatives.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

