RSS Feed

Faux Glaze–Antiqued Kitchen Cabinets

Kitchen Cabinet Glaze 005Kitchen Cabinet Glaze 002
I painted my Kitchen Cabinets last spring and had planned on Antiquing them but, just never knew the right method or color glaze I wanted to use…until last week!  Now I really liked them painted white but, there were parts where I really needed to go back and touch up with the paint.  I decided that the glaze was much easier to hide my imperfect paint job and while I had the idea fresh in my mind I went for it.

Kitchen Cabinet Glaze 003Kitchen Cabinets Glaze 006
I took 1 cup Faux Glaze to 1/4 cup black custom color paint that I used on my front door.  See below picture for paint recipe. Mixed it up and then used a brush to paint it on all over.  Then I took a wet rag and wiped off what I didn’t want to.  I played with the inside of one of the cupboards first before I totally went for it.
Custom Black Door Color
Custom Black door color above mixed in Behr Semi Gloss Paint.  Below is Benjamin Moore Cabinet Coat paint I had color matched to Behr Swiss Coffee that is white with a tint of cream.
Cabinet Paint
Overall I like how the glaze popped the details in the crown rope molding going around the cabinets.  It also just gave an outline and softened the cabinets to be more of worn antique finish and ties in my black antiqued kitchen island.
Kitchen Cabinet Glaze 001Kitchen Cabinet Glaze 004 copy
Linking to:At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Serenity You, Weekend Soiree,Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing,Meet Me Mondays, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Martha Monday’s, Naptime ReviewPink Hippo Party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday,Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Creative Me Monday, House On The Way, Not Just A Housewife,A Bowl Full of Lemons, Some What Simple, The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Southern Lovely
27 responses »

  1. The glaze really brings out all the beautiful trim on the cabinets! It looks great! Thanks for the info too!

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much for stopping by! That was a fast comment as I just posted a few minutes ago! ~ Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  3. I think they are so much better with the glaze! Painted wood work is so hard to keep looking nice you can't just coat it with scratch cover like stained wood. I think the glaze was the perfect way to go. I painted just my island black and distressed it because that way if more paint gets knocked off it's okay, right?

    Reply
  4. Beautiful JOb!!! The glaze looks beautiful in the details – Your newest follower – would love to have you follow back when you have the timeHugs,Suzan

    Reply
  5. I love the glazed… really show the detail. Thanks for sharing.~ Lisa from Indiana ~

    Reply
  6. Great job ~ I liked the cabinets white but the glaze really brought out the special details of the molding. Love it!!

    Reply
  7. Thanks so much for your comments and yes I too painted my island black and sanded it so any chips would look natural! The cabinet coal is awesome paint because you can touch up the paint and it gives a smooth finish when it dries. Thanks again for stopping by! ~ Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  8. Wow! This looks gorgeous! Thanks so much for sharing with the Pink Hippo Party~xoxoAmie @ Pinkapotamus

    Reply
  9. New follower from Thee Networking Blog Hop. Love for you to stop by and return the follow when you can. I am hosting Mom's Monday Mingle later tonight. Love for you to network with some other mom blogs ;)www.thenaptimereview.comJulie @ Naptime Review

    Reply
  10. I love the antique look! Between you and me (any anyone who reads this!) I'm starting to get tiered of the white cabinets and am drifting towards the antique look.

    Reply
  11. Well done! Really makes the detail pop!

    Reply
  12. I'm so glad that I'm following you! The glaze gives the cabinets such a high end, custom look. It's really impressive. Thanks so much for sharing on Show and Tell Saturday!Katiewww.funhomethings.com

    Reply
  13. Thanks so much for stopping by and following!

    Reply
  14. I have always loved the antique look…something about warn old things that bring comfort to me:) Thanks for stopping by.~Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  15. Thanks for the invite and I will be over to say hello!~Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  16. Thanks for hosting a great party!~Staceywww.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  17. That makes such a big difference! I love the white cabniets I"m your newest follower from the Monday Mingle followme@ http://www.studentswife.com

    Reply
  18. Glazing is my favourite!!! Your kitchen cabinets look fabulous!xo,Shannon

    Reply
  19. It looked pretty before but the glazing really brings out the beautiful details! Great job!

    Reply
  20. Gorgeous job! I haven't perfected the technique yet, so great tips! I gave it a shot once but it looked like I smeared it with mud. lol Thanks so much for sharing. Pinning for future reference! 😉

    Reply
  21. Looks amazing! I'm trying to glaze a buffet right now and it's not turning out so well.

    Reply
  22. Great work! I really liked the cabinets white and glaze really brought out the special details of the molding. Love it!!

    Reply
  23. They are a great way to save big when remodeling or working with new construction. However, there are other factors just as important as getting kitchen cabinets wholesale when your budget is tight.Kitchen Cabinet Designs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

