RSS Feed

My Bag Is Packed

I picked up a few packing tips that I’ve learned after visiting 16 states this year via our family road trips. I am excited that this up coming trip I get to travel by a 4 hour airplane ride instead of a 30 hour drive out west.  Whether car or plane I have used just one carry on piece of luggage and purse. I have developed a system to get the most out of every inch of packing space.
Packing for DYT type 2 trip 001 copy
I told you a few weeks ago I was going to the Dressing Your Truth Conference in Salt Lake City and the time has arrived to start packing. 

True to my type 2 nature I have planned out my outfits and picked things that can mix and match.  I love that when you know how to Dress Your Truth everything in your closet can mix and match.  Instead of saying “I have nothing to wear” I had quite the opposite reaction…I have so many choices that are all my favorites. This is what I came up with after trying several different combinations to come up with the most comfortable, most versatile and best for traveling as a Dressing Your Truth Type 2.

packing for DYT type 2 trip 002 copy
I have 2 skirts- denim ruffle and gray lace. 2 pairs of skinny jeans, 3 cardigan sweaters- with coordinating tops underneath. 1 lace top and matching necklace, earrings and belts grouped together. I have packed my fitness gear including my athletic shoes and also my gray dress boots. I am wearing a pair of my favorite gray wool flats, comfortable outfit and jacket on the plane.  I have several options of dressing up or dressing down an outfit and yet still be comfortable for the activities. None of the items are bulky except for my shoes.  I got all of that in my suit case.
I have a variety of activities to attend while at the conference and I don’t want to leave anything behind I might need. I have been asked to share how my secondary type 3 nature plays a role in my life plus I need to make sure my outfit reflects my secondary…anyone of you DYT gals guess which item I packed to wear for my 2 minute spotlight?
Packing for DYT type 2 trip 003 copy
Once I had everything planned out I then roll up my clothes so I can fit more in my carry on suit case.  I also put my jeans and thicker heavier items in the center and then build around them tucking my shoes on the side.  I can see my boots are going to take up some room.  I refuse to pay money to check a bag though and I have narrowed everything down that I know it will all fit.  A well designed carry on suit case that has nice pockets on the top inside is most helpful. I roll up my under garments or smaller items and tuck them in those top inside pockets and can fit a ton of stuff in my suit case that way. No inch of space goes wasted in my bag.
I also carry a nice size purse when I travel by plane to keep my small toiletries handy for security check.  My make-up, camera and jewelry I pack in my purse.  Just in case the plane is packed and I have to gate check my carry on I know I have the stuff that would be really hard to go without if my luggage were lost. {Update at the last minute my bag had to be checked and I am so glad I followed my intuition on packing my personal items with me}
I love traveling in the fall with cool crisp air and looking forward to some time alone to think, ponder and set some new goals for myself.
FYI…Dressing Your Truth course is just $99 with a $20 gift card to the online store included in your purchase until Oct. 9th!
Linking to:At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Serenity You, Weekend Soiree,Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff, Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing,Meet Me Mondays, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Martha Monday’s, Naptime Review, Pink Hippo Party,Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday,Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Creative Me Monday, House On The Way, Not Just A Housewife,A Bowl Full of Lemons, Some What Simple, The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Southern Lovely
7 responses »

  1. How clever! I'm going to be rolling my jeans next time I travel! 😀

    Reply
  2. I roll everything and I still had room to bring home my special trip finds too! Thanks for stopping by! ~ Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  3. Yay!! I always roll my stuff too! Less wrinkling and more space in the luggage.Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality!

    Reply
  4. I learnt to roll my clothes when I went backpacking – amazing the difference it makes in space!!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  5. Thanks for hosting a great party and stopping by! Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  6. Thanks for stopping by and that is an excellent idea in a back pack. I would have never got all my stuff home if it weren't for knowing to roll my clothes! LOL ~ Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  7. Hello, new follower here! I would love to have you link up with my Clever Chicks Blog Hop this week!http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/10/upcycled-chicken-coop-clever-chicks.htmlI hope to see you there!Cheers!KathyThe Chicken Chick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

