RSS Feed

Fall Coffee Filter Pom Pom’s & Waxed Leaf Garland

Coffee Filter Leaf Garland 003
I had so much fun today creating this fun easy and very inexpensive Fall Garland for Thanksgiving Décor.

Fall Coffee Filter Garland
1. Buy Natural Basket-Style Coffee Filters. I think mine were $1.89
2. Separate out the filters and lay them flat.
3. Crinkle it up in a ball.
4. Smooth it back out.
5. Stack in groups of 10 & get out the stapler.
6. Staple 2 staples towards the center with a enough room to poke a hole in the center of them.
7. Fold in half and cut hole or poke hole.
8. Feed your twine or jute through the hole.
9. Scrunch up your pom-pom. I start with one side working toward the center.  Then do the other side and then scrunch both sides together making a cute scrunch messy pom-pom ball!
Next the waxed leaves.  Collect lots of pretty leaves and don’t forget fun twigs and sticks while you are at (for another project) with fun little boys in camo gear and pretty horses.
nov 4 001 copy
nov 4 003 copynov 4 002 copy
Those horses are sure fun especially when they follow you around with curiosity probably thinking you have food for them in your bucket of leaves. Oh yes getting side tracked…onto the wax leaves.
Wax Fall Leaves
1. Buy paraffin wax at the grocery store. Mine I have had for 14 years at least sitting in my cupboard.
2. Cut some off the block and put in a throw away pan on your stove burner. Slowly melt the wax. (Learned the hard way and melted it fast only to have my downstairs all nice and Smokey.)
3. Use tongs and spatula that can be thrown away or cleaned after use or that you don’t care gets wax on it. Dip one leaf at a time with a thin coat of wax.
4. Let drip dry over pan and excess wax falls off.
5. Use wax paper to set leaves on to dry or in my case I used plastic wrap and foil with non-stick cooking spray on it.
6. Once cool and dried moved to another surface to make room for more leaves.
Tie them in between your pom- poms with more twine or jute and you are done! Or hang them with fishing wire all by themselves strung across a window.
I had everything for this project on hand except for the coffee filters so all of this cost me under $2. The kids all helped as well with the pom-pom’s and leaf waxing making it a fun family project.

Coffee Filter Leaf Garland 001

Linking to: At the Picket Fence, Funky Junk Interiors, Weekend Wrap up Party , Show and Tell Saturdays , Serenity You, Weekend Soiree,Scrappy Saturdays, Six Sisters Stuff,Think Pink Sundays, I Heart Nap Time, The DIY Showoff, Nifty Thrifty Things, It’s Overflowing, Meet Me Mondays, Its So Very Cheri, Made with love Monday, Martha Monday’s, The Dedicated House, Naptime Review, Pink Hippo Party, Motivate me Monday, Craftastic Monday,Making the World Cuter, Market yourself Monday, A Round Tuit, Creative Me Monday,House On The Way, Not Just A Housewife, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Some What Simple,The DIY Dreamer, The Shabby Cottage, 52 Mantels, Savvy Southern, Southern Lovely,Fresh Eggs Daily

17 responses »

  1. Loving this, cheap and beautiful = win 🙂

    Reply
  2. I am loving this! Dipping the leaves in wax is a wonderful idea. When I was a little girl my Grandma and I used to go out and pick our favorite leaves and then put them in contact paper to make book marks. Its a fond memory I have with her that I hope to continue with my children–the wax could be a great alternative! :)I'm a new follower from Mom's Mingle! Hope you can stop by and say hi sometime!-Samwww.dannyandsamantha.blogspot.com

    Reply
  3. Thanks so much for linking up to my party! Thanks for the great tutorial! LeslieHouse on the Way

    Reply
  4. I am just stopping by to let you know I nominated you for the Leibster award. Swing by mypost to see your feature. Andrea @ http://www.OneCreativeHousewife.comI Love This Post!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the nomination! I will stop by to check it out! ~Stacey @ http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  6. Love the natural look and feel to this, Stacey. Beautiful photos, too! Nice job!

    Reply
  7. Unusual and beautiful!! I love it!Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!Hope you have a fabulous week!Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  8. Wow! That is a really great idea! Love the pom poms. Beautiful job. Thank you for sharing. Would love it if you would share this at my Make it Pretty Monday party at The Dedicated House. http://thededicatedhouse.blogspot.com/2012/11/make-it-pretty-monday-week-22.html Hope to see you at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

    Reply
  9. Visiting from House on the Way. Love your projects-simple and pretty!Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  10. Love this! What a great way to bring nature inside and enjoy all the joys of fall! Thanks so much for sharing with the Pink Hippo Party.xoxoAmie @ Pinkapotamus

    Reply
  11. I remember contact paper and doing that too! I hope to continue the tradition with my kids. Thanks for stopping by! ~Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  12. Thanks for hosting a great party to link to! ~Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  13. I will try to stop by and share this week! Thanks for the invite! ~Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply
  14. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some love! ~Stacey http://www.realsouthernliving.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

